Congratulations To Recent Contest Winners!


It’s a season of celebration here in the English department.

We had two winners in the recent campus-wide essay contest about the value of the liberal arts. Biology major and EL minor Alicia Peebles (’13) and EL major Ana Quiring (’14) tied for second place. They each win $50, and their essays will go on to the state-wide competition along with entries by 1st place winner Rebecca Kopf and honorable mention Hailey Smith.

Just this afternoon, Dr. John Pell emceed the 2012-13 writing awards, where our majors took home many prizes:

Mary Schmick (’14) won an award for writing in Political Science.

Josie Camarillo (’14) won for Psychology.

Winners of the EL department awards include Maggie Montague (’15) in the Narrative category, Addison Koneval for Lower Division Research, Jessica Weber for Poetry, Lauren NuDelman for Lower Division Research, Matt Comi (’14) for Essay, and Adriana Siefe for Writing I.

John announced the renaming of the Upper Division Research award to the Laura Bloxham Award for Writing Excellence. Taylor Countryman is our first winner of this honor.

Congratulations to all of our winners! You’ve done us proud.

The kitteh art, above, is from here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s