Tags

, , , ,

1779234_10203193254216730_852135678_n

Earlier this semester I began an internship at She’s Charming. She’s Charming, a blog started by two Whitworth English department grads, Katie Palmer and Dani Erickson, is a space for women to celebrate all facets of their lives, embracing the idea of holistic living. Their articles are broken up into different categories: style, explore, cook, decorate, self, and career.

As their intern, I write one post a week, switching between the different categories. It’s exciting to have a lot of freedom to write within these categories, and that freedom is helping me create a more productive brainstorming process. Working with She’s Charming has taught me a lot about how ideas can come from a variety of unexpected places. I even caved and got a Pinterest account – turns out pinning provides great inspiration!

I’m also learning a lot about using visual media to complement my writing. It’s more than just writing the article; the post must also be visually compelling and interesting to the reader. With help from Katie and Dani, I’m learning about using pictures, quotes, and more to enhance my writing, and to help my posts fit into the aesthetic they’ve created for the blog.

Since starting my internship with She’s Charming, I’ve also become more aware of the strong blogging community in Spokane. There are meet-up events for bloggers in the area to connect with each other, and a lot of resources for people who are interested in or want more information about blogging. She’s Charming also focuses a lot on promoting local locations, restaurants, and companies in the Pacific Northwest, adding a unique community feel to the blog.

Blogging is becoming an extremely popular forum for discussing current events, opinions, trends, and lifestyles, as well as creating another way for people to connect and share ideas through the internet. It’s been exciting to join this community through my internship.

If any of this sounds interesting to you, you should definitely check out She’s Charming.

Jennifer Rudsit is a sophomore English writing and literature major, and theatre dance minor. In her free time, she enjoys working at the HUB Info Desk, journaling, watching BBC television, having nerdy conversations, and, of course, reading a lot of books.