Tags

, , ,

triangular_room_bookshelves

Here is another taste of what is to come from Laura’s List. This book honoring Laura Bloxham’s 35 years of Summer Reading Lists will be released Friday, May 9 at the Westminster annual Book Sale which will be from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. in the garden between Westminster and Lied.

To donate books to the sale, contact Annie Stillar at astillar@whitworth.edu or (509) 777-3253 and arrange a pick-up.

8f484b7d51b3f9fb6c2fc7b930c10b38[1]

The Stones of Mourning Creek
by Diane Les Becquets (2012)

I fell in love with The Stones of Mourning Creek my freshman year of high school. It’s one of those books I could read over and over again and get some new meaning from each time I read it. The element of mystery forced my fingers to turn each page the first time I read it.

I can’t remember if the writing was even “good” and I can barely recall the storyline. But I do remember the feeling I got from reading the book –a kind of aching in my chest and throat, like I wanted to cry, but I couldn’t.

Despite the title, this book is not just a young adult romance novel, a genre that perpetually lived on my bookshelf at the time. Rather, it follows the story of a young Caucasian girl who finds herself battling a racist society when she befriends an African American girl in 1960 Alabama. The novel portrays unlikely friendships, complicated familial relationships, death, racism, and heartbreak.

Ivy Beck is a sophomore at Whitworth who is studying English and French, and has taken to writing creative nonfiction.