Internship Spotlight: Jennifer Rudsit (’16) at She’s Charming

1779234_10203193254216730_852135678_n

Earlier this semester, Jennifer Rudsit (’16) gave us a snapshot of her internship. Here she is again, looking back on her spring semester as a blogger for She’s Charming:

Hello, again! I’m back, having finished my internship. She’s Charming, a blog centered on holistic living for women, was created by Katie Palmer and Dani Erickson, two Whitworth English department grads. Working with Katie and Dani was a unique and beneficial experience, because as recent grads, they understand the Whitworth experience and could give me a lot of advice about classes, internships, and post-college life.

While I’ve always known how influential other people’s writing is in my own life, it never occurred to me that words I write could possibly reach out to someone in the same way. Having my words published online was terrifying, but hearing how people connected with Katie and Dani’s posts, and even mine, reminded me how powerful words can be, and how cool it is that we have the ability to connect with people through writing.

Being a part of the She’s Charming team has also made me appreciate Spokane a lot more. Their Explore section on the blog features local coffee shops, restaurants, and stores, and exploring their recommendations has helped my displaced Western Washington heart enjoy this city in new ways. They emphasize community and investing in where you live, as opposed to passively living day to day in your city. You can’t love something until you give it a chance, and She’s Charming has laid great groundwork for anyone wanting to explore and fall in love with the major cities in the Pacific Northwest.

Thanks for reading – I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my time at She’s Charming, and I hope you’ll check out the blog.

Jennifer is a sophomore English writing and literature major, and theatre dance minor. In her free time she enjoys working at the HUB Info Desk, journaling, having nerdy conversations, and, of course, reading a lot of books.

Leave a Reply

